WhatsApp is finally introducing a feature that lets users ‘recall’ their messages when sent to a wrong person or group. WhatsApp has also published a guide on how to delete messages in its FAQ section on the website.

More details can be found on the company’s FAQ page

 

The feature is called ‘Delete for Everyone’ or ‘Delete for me’; The Delete for everyone feature works for any message type in WhatsApp: text messages, images, videos, GIFs, voice messages, contact cards, files, locations, quoted messages and status replies.

However, You cannot recall a broadcasted message.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats.

Similarly, if you see ‘this message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone. You can only recall a message sent between 1-7 minutes, After the 7th-minute mark, the message cannot be recalled or deleted.

Most users will agree that this update is long overdue, however, the caveat here is all the parties using the app, will need to have the updated version of the app , which won’t be much of a problem in a month or two when the billion-plus user base will have the latest version of the app on their handheld.

Share.

About Author

Digital Marketing Enthusiast, Loves writing about Marketing and Technology.